BATscreen

 
 
 
BATscreen is especially designed for an efficient manual evaluation of a large number of bat call files. It povides a wide selection of tools to visualize call recordings and make them audible. This allows a detailed analysis and categorization of the recordings.
Since recently an automated call categorization of BATmode recordings with the software Avisoft-RECORDER USGH in accordance to the research project RENEBAT [1] was released, BATscreen has been extended for the required follow-up of the automatically evaluated data. Thus, the results of automated call analysis can be easily imported, visualized and verified.
To detect temporal activity distributions and correlations with environmental parameters, BATscreen now also includes a comprehensive graphical analysis tool. Thus, it is not only possible to perform a plausibility check of the recorded data, but also findings for a bat-friendly operation of the investigated wind turbines can be obtained.
To enable a standardized calculation of turbine shutdown times, evaluated data can be exported in a ProBat (software for standardized shutdown time calculation, see [1]) compatible format. In addition, all evaluation graphics and their raw data can be saved as pixel or vector graphics as well as CSV files for your report.

A free BATscreen Lite version with reduced functionality as well as the BATscreen user manual can be downloaded on our download page. To unlock full functionality and all export functions please purchase BATscreen PRO.
 


Extensive visual and acoustic tools for a detailed call analysis


Mountain View
Call Analysis

The visualization of bat calls in the form of spectrograms is the most common and in our opinion most useful way to analyze bat calls. It cannot only be used to separate bat call and noise recording, but also to distinguish calls of different bat species.
In addition, BATscreen also allows you to playback recorded files, which can be used for acoustic call identification.

Main analysis features of BATscreen:
- Fast adjustable spectrogram calculation
- Intuitive zooming
- Power Density Spectrum
- Adjustable acoustic playback


Fast and efficient follow-up of an automated call analysis



Automated Call Analysis see [1]

Since an automated call analysis and categorization of BATmode recordings with the Avisoft-RECORDER USGH software is possible since the end of 2018, BATscreen has implemented the feature of a fast and efficient manual follow-up of the results of this automated evaluation. Thus, the entire work flow of a bat monitoring at nacelle height from the data acquisition, through the automated data analysis and manual follow-up to the data export for shutdown times calculation is realized in accordance to the research project RENEBAT.

Follow-up with BATscreen:
- Easy import of automated call analysis results
- Fast categorization verification with Shortcut or Mouse click
- Saving results in the WAV file headers
- Graphical plausibility control of bat activity distribution
- ProBat-compatible export of evaluated data


Manual file evaluation and call categorization



Definition of individual Class Tree

The manual analysis of bat call spectrograms often allows to distinguish bat calls and noise or even bat calls of different species at a glance. But how do you manage to structure these findings quickly and easily and export them properly?

For this, BATscreen is the ideal tool:
- individual configurable or preseted categories of bat calls
- fast categorization of calls with shortcuts or mouse clicks
- optimized for large numbers of files
- results are saved in the WAV file headers
- ProBat-compatible export of evaluated data


Graphical analysis of data set


Mountain View
Activity Plot

In the evaluating of bat call recordings, it is often of great interest to recognize temporal activity distributions as well as correlations with environmental parameters and to present them in intuitive graphs.

BATscreen offers a wide range of options:
- Plot of activity over daytime, day, month or nighttime
- Correlation of activity with temperature, precipitation and wind speed
- Data export to create your own styled plots
- Export of plots as pixel or vektor based images


Compatible data formats

BATscreen supports the following types of data:
- wav-files
- raw-files
Consequently, BATscreen allows not only to analyze data obtained by BATmode- or Avisoft-Systems. Moreover, also bat call files acquired with different bat detectors can be opened and analyzed.


System requirements

- Windows® operating system (XP/Vista/7/8/8.1/10)
- at least 4 GB RAM
- 50 MB free disc space
 
[1] Behr, O., Brinkmann, R., Hochradel, K., Mages, J., Korner-Nievergelt, F., Reinhard, H., Simon, R., Stiller, F., Weber, N., Nagy, M., (2018). „Bestimmung des Kollisionsrisikos von Fledermäusen an Onshore-Windenergieanlagen in der Planungspraxis“ - Report of the research project funded by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy. O. Behr et al. Erlangen / Freiburg / Ettiswil.

BATscreen

 
 
 
BATscreen wurde entwickelt, um dem Anwender eine schnelle und effiziente manuelle Auswertung einer großen Anzahl von Fledermausrufaufnahmen zu ermöglichen. Hierzu beinhaltet es eine umfangreiche Auswahl an Werkzeugen, um Rufaufnahmen zu visualisieren und akustisch hörbar zu machen. Dies erlaubt eine detaillierte Analyse und Kategorisierung der Aufnahmen.
Da seit kurzem eine automatisierte Rufkategorisierung von BATmode Aufnahmen mit der Software Avisoft-RECORDER USGH gemäß dem Forschungsprojekt RENEBAT [1] möglich ist, wurde BATscreen zudem explizit für die vorgeschriebene Nachkontrolle der automatisiert evaluierten Daten erweitert. Somit können die Ergebnisse der automatisierten Rufanalyse einfach und schnell importiert, veranschaulicht und verifiziert werden.
Um zeitliche Aktivitätsverteilungen und Korrelationen mit Umgebungsparametern zu erkennen, inkludiert BATscreen jetzt auch ein umfangreiches graphisches Analysetool. Damit ist es nicht nur möglich, eine Plausibilitätsprüfung der erfassten Daten durchzuführen, sondern es können auch Erkenntnisse für einen sicheren fledermausfreundlichen Betrieb der untersuchten Windenergieanlagen gewonnen werden.
Um eine standardisierte Abschaltzeitenberechnung durchzuführen, können evaluierte Daten in einem zu ProBat (Software zur standardisierten Abschaltzeitenberechnung, siehe [1]) kompatiblen Format exportiert werden. Zudem können sämtliche Auswertegrafiken und deren Rohdaten als Pixel- oder Vektorgrafiken sowie CSV-Dateien für Ihr Gutachten gespeichert werden.

Eine funktionsreduzierte BATscreen Lite-Version sowie die Benutzerdokumentation zu BATscreen können kostenlos auf unserer Downloadseite heruntergeladen werden. Zur Freischaltung des vollen Funktionsumfangs sowie aller Export-Funktionen nutzen Sie bitte BATscreen PRO.
 


Umfangreiche visuelle und akustische Werkzeuge zur Rufanalyse


Mountain View
Rufanalyse

Die Darstellung der Fledermausrufe in Form von Spektrogrammen ist das gängigste und unserer Meinung nach aussagekräftigste Mittel zur Analyse von Fledermausrufen. Mit ihnen lassen sich nicht nur auf einen Blick Störgeräuschaufnahmen von Rufaufnahmen unterscheiden, sondern es kann auch recht einfach eine Kategorisierung von Rufaufnahmen auf Artniveau vorgenommen werden.
Darüber hinaus ermöglicht BATscreen auch eine akutische Wiedergabe der aufgezeichneten Dateien, womit zudem eine akustische Rufidentifizierung durchgeführt werden kann.

Ihre Vorteile von BATscreen:
- Schnelle, effiziente und frei parametrierbare Spektrogramm-Berechnung
- Intuitives Zoomen
- Markieren und Analysieren von Spektrogrammbereichen
- Frequenz-Marker
- Leistungsdichtespektrum
- Einstellbare akustische Wiedergabe


Schnelle und effiziente Nachkontrolle einer automatisierten Rufanalyse



Automatisierte Rufanalyse nach [1]

Nachdem seit Ende 2018 eine automatisierte Rufanalyse und -kategorisierung von BATmode-Aufnahmen mit der Software Avisoft-RECORDER USGH möglich sind, wurde in BATscreen die Möglichkeit einer schnellen manuellen Nachkontrolle der Ergebnisse dieser automatisierten Auswertung implementiert. Somit wird der gesamte Weg eines Fledermaus-Gondelmonitorings von der Datenerfassung, über die automatisierte Datenanalyse und manuelle Nachkontrolle bis zum Export zur Abschaltzeitberechnung streng gemäß dem Forschungsprojekt RENEBAT abgebildet.

Ablauf einer Nachkontrolle mit BATscreen:
- Einfacher Import der Ergebnisse der automatisierten Rufanalyse
- Schnelle Nachkontrolle mittels Shortcut oder Mausklick
- Speichern der Informationen direkt im WAV-File
- Graphische Plausibiltätskontrolle der Aktivitätsverteilung
- ProBat kompatibler Export der kontrollierten Daten


Manuelle Datenanalyse und Rufkategorisierung



Definition eines individuellen Klassenbaums

Bei der manuellen Analyse lassen sich mit Hilfe von Spektrogrammen Fledermausrufe vielfach auf einen Blick unterschiedlichen Arten zuordnen oder auch als Störaufnahmen identifizieren. Doch wie schafft man es, diese Erkenntnisse strukturiert und möglichst schnell und einfach zu speichern und zu exportieren?

Hierfür ist BATscreen das ideale Werkzeug:
- Individuell erstellbare oder bereits voreingestellte Kategorien
- Schnelle Zuordnung mittels Shortcut oder Mausklick
- Optimiert für große Datenmengen
- Speichern der Informationen direkt im WAV-File
- ProBat kompatibler Export der ausgewerteten Daten


Graphische Datenevaluation


Mountain View
Activity Plot

Im Zuge der Auswertung eines Datensatzes mit Fledermausrufaufnahmen ist es oftmals von großem Interesse, zeitliche Aktivitätsverteilungen und Korrelationen mit Umweltparametern zu erkennen und in einfachen Schaubildern darzustellen.

BATscreen bietet hierfür umfangreiche Möglichkeiten:
- Darstellung der Aktivitätsverteilung über Tageszeit, Tag, Monat oder Nachtzeit
- Korrelation der Aktivität mit Temperatur, Niederschlag und Windgeschwindigkeit
- Daten-Export zum Erstellen eigener Grafiken
- Export der Abbildungen als Pixel oder Vektorgrafik


Kompatible Datenformate

BATscreen unterstützt folgende Datenformate:
- WAV-Dateien
- RAW-Dateien
Somit ist sowohl die Analyse von BATmode- bzw. Avisoft-Daten als auch von Aufnahmen anderer Fledermaus-Detektionssysteme möglich.


Systemvoraussetzungen

- Windows® Betriebssystem (XP/Vista/7/8/8.1/10)
- Mindestens 4 GB Arbeitsspeicher
- 50 MB freier Hauptspeicher
 
[1] Behr, O., Brinkmann, R., Hochradel, K., Mages, J., Korner-Nievergelt, F., Reinhard, H., Simon, R., Stiller, F., Weber, N., Nagy, M., (2018). „Bestimmung des Kollisionsrisikos von Fledermäusen an Onshore-Windenergieanlagen in der Planungspraxis“ - Endbericht des Forschungsvorhabens gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (Förderkennzeichen 0327638E). O. Behr et al. Erlangen / Freiburg / Ettiswil.