BATmode 2S/2S+

The latest generation of the acoustic
bat monitoring system for wind turbines

 
 
Following the great success of the BATmode S and BATmode S+ over the past few years, we are pleased to announce the BATmode 2S and BATmode 2S+, the newest members of the BATmode family. Optimized especially for the challenges and difficult conditions of a bat monitoring in wind turbines, the system enables efficient and reliable long-term studies on bat activity in conformity to legal guidelines.
With its extended customizability, the BATmode 2S/2S+ system can now be perfectly adapted to the requirements and needs of your measurement tasks. In addition to the choice of the two different versions BATmode 2S and BATmode 2S+, you can now record bat calls at up to four measuring points with just one BATmode system. Since the required hardware for each measuring channel can also be supplemented later in a modular manner, the new BATmode system is the ideal bat monitoring system for all stationary long-term studies. From a simple standard monitoring in the height of the nacelle of wind turbines with only one microphone up to bat call recordings with four microphones over the entire height of a measuring mast, a wide variety of measuring tasks can be realized cost-effectively with just one monitoring system.
Since measurements in the nacelle or tower wall of wind turbines as well as measurements on masts require completely different microphones, you can use for each measurement point the most suitable microphone. Choose between the GM50 or GM90 microphone discs specially designed for
the installation in nacelles, the TM10 and TM20 for tower wall mounting or use the microphone TM20 on masts.
Of course, all the remote access options known from the BATmode S/S+ are also available fir the BATmode 2S/2S+. So the system offers you LTE mobile cellular network, WIFI and wired LAN network. By this, you can remotely control the BATmode 2S/2S+ system via SMS, BATconnect App, Remote Desktop as well as our myBAT cloud and consequently, always have an eye on your system's performance. Thus, ascents to the nacelle become obsolete and costs are reduced.
In order to meet the increased memory requirements of up to four measuring channels, the internal storage capacity of the BATmode system has been doubled to 256 GB (BATmode 2S) or 512GB (BATmode 2S+). In combination with the proven UltraSoundGate hardware of our cooperation partner Avisoft Bioacoustics and its outstanding bat call filter, the system can be operated over an entire monitoring season without changing the storage medium. Furthermore, the time-consuming evaluation of the recorded data can be reduced to a minimum with the new ProBat-compatible automated call categorization and our analysis software BATscreen.
Since the BATmode 2S/2S+, like its predecessor, combines all knowledge gained during numerous monitorings of bat activity within the research project WindBat, we can proudly say, that the named features make the BATmode 2S/2S+ system the perfect detection system for stationary long-term monitorings of bat activity like for example on wind turbines.

Efficient

up to

80

%

less recorded noise

due to

outstanding bat call recognition filter


with a simultaniously larger number of recorded bat calls compared to other bat call detection systems

up to

25

%

cost reduction

due to

various remote accessibilities


for purchase and operation of the BATmode-System over an whole monitoring season compared to other bat call detection systems


Low maintenance due to various remote accessibilities


Flexible for a wide variety of bat monitoring tasks


Functional

microphone heating

to avoid variations of microphone sensitivity caused by condensate formation

testsignal speaker

to monitor and log microphone sensitivity daily

integrated data evaluation plots

to always keep an eye on the performance of your BATmode system

additional sensors

for the simultaneous acquisiton of temperature and precipitation rate

BATmode 2S/2S+

Die neueste Generation des akustischen
Fledermausmonitoring-Systems für Windenergieanlagen

 
 
Nach dem großen Erfolg des BATmode S und BATmode S+ in den vergangenen Jahren freuen wir uns, Ihnen mit dem BATmode 2S und BATmode 2S+ das neueste Mitglied der BATmode Familie vorstellen zu dürfen. Speziell für die Herausforderungen und schwierigen Umgebungsbedingungen eines Fledermaus-Monitorings an Windenergieanlagen optimiert, ermöglicht das System die effiziente und richtlinienkonforme Durchführung verlässlicher Langzeit-Studien zur Fledermausaktivität.
Mit seiner erweiterten Individualisierbarkeit kann das BATmode 2S/2S+ System nun noch besser an die Bedürfnisse Ihrer Messaufgaben angepasst werden. Neben der Wahl der beiden Ausbaustufen BATmode 2S und BATmode 2S+, können Sie nun mit nur einem BATmode System Fledermausrufe an bis zu vier Messpunkten erfassen. Da die benötigte Hardware für jeden Messkanal modular nachträglich ergänzt werden kann, ist das neue BATmode System das ideale Fledermaus Monitoringsystem für alle stationären Langzeiterfassungen. Von einem einfachen Standard-Höhenmonitoring in der Gondel von Windenergieanlagen mit nur einem Mikrofon bis hin zu Erfassungen mit vier Mikrofonen über die gesamte Höhe eines Messmasts können vielfältigste Messaufgaben besonders kosteneffizient mit nur einem Monitoringsystem realisiert werden.
Für jeden Messpunkt können Sie dabei natürlich das für die spezifischen Anforderungen am besten geeignete Mikrofon einsetzen. Wählen Sie zwischen der speziell für das Gondelmonitoring entwickelten Mikrofonscheibe GM90, den Mikrofonen zur Turmwandmontage TM10 und TM20 oder dem auf einem Stativ montierbaren Mikrofon GM50.
Natürlich stehen Ihnen zur Steuerung und Wartung des Systems sämtliche aus dem BATmode S/S+ bekannten Fernzugriffsmöglichkeiten zur Verfügung. So bietet Ihnen das System LTE-Mobilfunk, WIFI und drahtgebundenes LAN Netzwerk . Somit können Sie das BATmode 2S/2S+ System via SMS, BATconnect App, Remote Desktop und unserer myBAT-Cloud fernsteuern und haben die System-Performance stets im Blick. Somit werden Gondelaufstiege obsolet und Kosten reduziert.
Um dem erhöhten Speicherbedarf mehrerer Messkanäle gerecht zu werden, wurde die interne Speicherkapazität des BATmode Systems auf 256 GB (BATmode 2S) bzw. 512GB (BATmode 2S+) verdoppelt. In Kombination mit dem bewährten UltraSoundGate unseres Kooperationspartners Avisoft Bioacoustics und dessen herausragenden Fledermaus-Ruffilter ist eine äußerst selektive Aufnahme von Fledermausrufen möglich. Dies erlaubt es das System sicher über eine gesamte Monitoring-Saison hinweg ohne Wechsel des Speichermediums zu betreiben. Mit der neuen ProBat-kompatiblen automatisierten Rufkategorisierung und unserer Analyse-Software BATscreen kann zudem die zeitintensive Auswertung der aufgenommenen Daten auf ein Minimum reduziert werden.
Nachdem der BATmode 2S/2S+, wie auch bereits seine Vorgänger, sämtliche während zahlreicher Fledermausmonitoring-Maßnahmen im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts WindBat gesammelten Erfahrungen in sich vereint, kann man zu Recht behaupten, dass die genannten und noch viele weitere Features das BATmode 2S/2S+ System zum perfekten Fledermaus-Detektionssystem für automatisierte Langzeituntersuchungen machen.

Effizient

bis zu

80

%

weniger Aufnahmen von Störgeräuschen

durch

herausragenden Fledermaus-Ruffilter


bei einer gleichzeitig größeren Anzahl aufgenommener Fledermausrufe im Vergleich zu anderen Detektionssystemen

bis zu

25

%

Kostenersparnis

durch

vielfältige Fernzugriffsmöglichkeiten


für Anschaffung und Betrieb des BATmode-Systems während einer gesamten Monitoringsaison im Vergleich zu anderen Detektionssystemen


Wartungsarm durch vielfältige Fernzugriffsmöglichkeiten


Flexibel für unterschiedlichste Fledermaus-Monitoringaufgaben einsetzbar


Funktional

Mikrofonheizung

zur Vermeidung von Kondensatbildung verursachter Schwankungen der Mikrofonsensitivität

Testsignalgeber

zur Überwachung und täglichen Protokollierung der Mikrofonsensitivität

Integrierte Auswertegrafiken

damit Sie Ihre Systemperformance stets im Blick haben

Zusätzliche Sensoren

zur simultanen Erfassung von Temperatur und Niederschlag